Wisconsin Forensic Coaches' Association
Wisconsin Forensic Coaches' Association


The WFCA's mission is "to instill and develop in students communication skills vital for a lifetime of effective participation in a democratic society." To that end, the WFCA promotes the interests of Wisconsin interscholastic forensics by assisting in the regulation and improvement of forensic practices and by serving as a forum for the airing of opinions concerning forensic activities. Member schools receive notices of invitational tournaments through an official mailing list. The season culminates with the State Tournament, open to every member school. Read more ...

See the video of coaches reflecting on the impact of forensics and scenes from the 2010 State Tournament.

facebook twittericon

WFCA Fall 2017 Meeting

The fall meeting will be Saturday, September 16 at Marquette University High School, 3401 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53208.

Specific details will be forthcoming, but typically there is a coaching clinic in the morning, a lunch break, and the business meeting in the afternoon.

This is also the date of the debate tournament at MUHS, making it convenient for forensics coaches who will be there for debate.

2017 Wisconsin Forensics Coaches' Association Champions Announced


Results on Speechwire

Results Files:

WFCA Student Congress

WFCA State Tournament Team Sweepstakes, Elimination Rounds, and Preliminary Rounds

The Wisconsin Forensics Coaches' Association (WFCA) announces the champions of the 2017 WFCA State Tournament.  The event was hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater on March 31 and April 1. The tournament marks the capstone of high school competitive speech activities for Wisconsin students. This year, over 1000 students from 74 schools across the state competed in various events.

Coach Tom Hardin from James Madison Memorial High School was awarded the William Hintz Memorial Award for Coaching Excellence.


In team awards, James Madison Memorial High School was named Division 1 State Champion, Waunakee High School was named Division 2 State Champion, and St. Lawrence Seminary High School was named Division 3 State Champion.


The 2017 congress, speech, and interpretive event state champions are:

Colin Gray-Hoehn from Brookfield East in Student Congress

Devika Kamath from James Madison Memorial High School in Demonstration Speaking

Bella Hyndiuk and Michelle Lazar from Brookfield East High School in Duo Interpretation

Anurag Sandireddy
from James Madison Memorial High School in Extemporaneous Speaking

Humberto Huerta
from St. Lawrence Seminary High School in Farrago

Bryant Nguyen, Jefferson Nguyen , Martin Vu, Peter Hall and Teddy le
from St. Lawrence Seminary High School in Group Interpretation

Jack Larsen from Sussex-Hamilton in Impromptu Speaking

Evanka Annyapu
from James Madison Memorial High School in Informative Speaking

Erik Bakken
from Appleton North High School in Moments in History

Madison Carlson
from Sun Prairie in Oral Interpretation

Priyanka Iyer
from Franklin High School in Oratory

Julia Holschuh and Mikenna Buchinger
from Kaukauna High School in Play Acting

Kellen Sharp
from Ronald Reagan High School in Poetry

John Vu
from St. Lawrence Seminary High School in Prose

Joe Skubal
from Slinger High School in Radio Announcing

Rachel Bednarowski
from Appleton East HS in Solo Humorous Acting

Durran Goodwin
from Rufus King in Solo Serious Acting

Addie Zweifel
from James Madison Memorial High School in Special Occasion Speaking

Sophia Kulow
from Sun Prairie in Storytelling

2017 Spring Meeting Recap

The 2017 WFCA Spring Meeting was held on May 6 in Sheboygan. Here is a brief summary:

Distinguished coach Tom Hardin of James Madison Memorial High School was inducted into the WFCA Hall of Fame for his dedication to his students, the WFCA, and the forensics community.

The 2017-18 proposed calendar was presented. The 2018 State Tournament at UW-Whitewater will be April 6 for Congress and April 7 for all other events, but the remainder of the calendar will become official at the fall meeting in September.

Officer terms concluded for Debra Weiher-Traas as Past-President and Michael Traas as Secretary. Elections were held for the two open positions. John Peschl was elected as Secretary, and John Rademacher was elected as President-Elect. Officers continuing to serve next year are Ben Kroll, President; Mariah Ervin, Past-President; and Amy Geyser, Treasurer.

Other business conducted at the meeting:

An ad-hoc committee for Grant Research / Funding has been established and will be chaired by Ron Steinhorst.

A proposal to add a fee for late drops at the state tournament passed after being amended from "drops" to "changes". The bylaw will read: "A fee of $15 will be charged for any changes occurring after the posted tournament close time."

Proposals for a state tournament qualification system and a change in sweepstakes calculation for the state tournament failed to pass. A proposal to change the time limits for Group Interpretation and Play Acting from 12 to 10 minutes was tabled. Other proposals concerning category rules were rescinded but may be looked at by the Category Committee.

tom hardin hall of fame

James Madison Memorial Coach Tom Hardin is inducted into the WFCA Hall of Fame, presented by Past-President Debra Weiher-Traas.

Invitational Tournaments

2017 Results:

March 31 - April 1 WFCA State Tournament and Congress

Jan 14 Port Washington
Jan 21 Luther Prep / Watertown
Jan 21 Oshkosh North
Jan 28 Appleton East
Jan 28 DeForest
Jan 28 Marquette University High School
Feb 4 Slinger
Feb 4 Sun Prairie
Feb 4 Winneconne
Feb 11 Eau Claire North
Feb 11 Hortonville

Feb 11 West Bend East
Feb 18 Delavan-Darien
Feb 18 Durand
Feb 18 Kaukauna
Feb 18 Lodi
Feb 25 Sheboygan South
Feb 25 UW-Whitewater
Mar 4 James Madison Memorial
Mar 4 Sheboygan North
Mar 11 New London
Mar 11 West Bend West
Mar 18 Arrowhead
Mar 18 Madison West
Mar 18 Waupaca
Mar 25 Brookfield East
Mar 25 Denmark